Interesting places: Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen

Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen

My friend is coming over to visit from Mexico, so starting tomorrow, I’ll be posting some of my touristy adventures in San Francisco! Yay! I’ve been waiting for this. Walking around town alone is not always fun!

I have done quite some traveling around the globe, as I made it my point in life to travel as much as possible, so I’d like to share other interesting places I’ve been to. I just posted about SFMOMA not being one of my favorite museums, so let me show you one that blew me away.

In the fall of 2010 I traveled to The Netherlands to study for two months at Erasmus University in Rotterdam (although at the end I took classes at Delft Technological University because that’s where my assigned tutor gave his classes). So I lived in Rotterdam, in the Alexander area, for two months and it was a dream. The city is known for having a lot of art spread around and very interesting museums. The Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen did not fail. I spent a whole rainy day in there, and was never ceased to be amazed by it.

Museumpark Rotterdam/The Netherlands (FOP)

Museumpark Rotterdam/The Netherlands (FOP) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is what I wrote about it back in 2010 (with a little editing, I found some horrible grammar errors, ugh!):

Rotterdam has enough art on its streets to keep me amused (I’m on a mission to get photos of all the quirky monuments/statues/random art around the city), and to top that off, it has great art museums. A museum is a great way to escape from the rainy weather that characterizes the Netherlands (my Dutch friend Marieke often calls it the “flat-froggy/toady country”), and the Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen is no exception. Current exhibitions are the “All eyes on Kees van Dongen” (huge exhibition, almost all of his paintings and a lot of info on his lifestyle), the Yayoi Kusama‘s Mirror room (which I LOVED!), the Collection H+F Fashion on the Edge, etc.

The museum is not expensive at all (15 Euros full rate, 10 Euros for students, free on Wednesdays). Part of it is being refurbished (as I said, every time I come to Europe, SOMETHING is being refurbished) so some areas are closed. You can still see the section of the surrealists and the impressionists, which were the ones I was interested in the most. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to see the Warholes. The patio is beautiful, so whenever it’s not rainy, I recommend going out and having your lunch/snack there.

You are allowed to take photos without flash. Here are some of the one’s I took.

5 thoughts on “Interesting places: Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen

  1. Hi Lorena, I was very excited to have your pingback this morning regarding the Museum Boijmans van Beuningen in your ‘related articles’. Thank you! Your post and photos of the art are very interesting. I saw a wonderful mirror piece at the Tate Liverpool last year and wonder if it was by Yayoi Kusama. It was a cube about 1m square which you peered into through little holes and saw thousands of complex reflections. Your article has prompted me to find the picture and the attribution. Thanks again! Enjoy SFO.

  2. I love her work! I have a video of her fireflies room in the Phoenix Art Museum, I have to find it in my stuff. I will google the piece your mentioning🙂

    thanks for your comments! loved your post, that’s why I linked it.

  3. Pingback: HOORAY 4 Tate Liverpool! | seascapes aus

  4. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

