Recipe: Mexican chicken soup!

Salt, sugar and pepper shakers.

Salt, sugar and pepper shakers. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One of my friends asked me to post my adventures in my small, San Francisco kitchen, so I’ll share with you my biggest accomplishment so far: Mexican chicken soup! It sounds great with Cinco de Mayo coming up and it’s a great hungover remedy.😉

It’s actually very easy to make, but it is such a ritual back home, that I felt a little overwhelmed. It takes a little more than an hour to cook, so I chose to make the chicken stock the day before. (My boyfriend kept asking, “How many days ’til your soup is ready? I’m hungry!”)

I made it for us two, but the chicken breasts were so big my neighbor was invited to feast with us and I still have a Tupperware full of chicken soup leftovers. These are the ingredients:

* 2 pieces of chicken, preferably thighs and breasts

* a liter of water

* 8 small potatoes, in chunks (you can use regular potatoes, but they take longer to cook)

* 1 Mexican squash, in chunks

* 2 Roma tomatoes, in chunks

* 2 carrots, sliced

* 2 sticks of celery

* 1 cube of chicken condiment (I used a pack of fried rice condiment and it was super yummy!)

* salt and pepper as needed

* minced garlic

* 1/2 avocado

Put both chicken pieces on a pot with enough water to cover them (it should be about a liter) and set to boil until chicken is thoroughly cooked. Once boiled, take them out of the water, let them cool and then shred them. Place back in hot water and add the vegetables that would take more time to cook, like the potatoes, the squash and the carrots. Add chicken condiment, garlic, pepper and salt and stir. When the potatoes are almost ready, add the tomatoes and celery and keep adding salt and pepper until it has the desired flavor.

Serve right away with two slices of avocado on top. Feel free to add lemon, salsa, chipotle or crushed red pepper. You can accompany the soup with warm bread or tostadas. Enjoy! Yum yum!

Image

Leave a Reply

