Look of the day – H&M for black-tie event

I love my boyfriend to death but I was about to smack him in the head when he told me on a Wednesday that we had a black-tie event in Los Angeles on Sunday… four days away… And you have to remember, I just moved to San Fran, 90% of my closet is back home in Mexico, and I haven’t been to L.A. since I was like, what?, 14? So I did not know of any good place to get my hair done or what area we were going to stay, nothing!

Anyways, long story short, I needed to find a pretty gown that was not overpriced and that was going to be elegant but not too elegant that I was going to be overdressed (this happens to me ALWAYS, every time we have a wedding, a special evening or something, I forget that Americans dress much more casual than we do in Mexico). So I wandered the stores in Union Square, and Bingo! H&M had this beautiful draped, one-shouldered dress in  soft pink for… wait for it… $59.95! I was so happy! They only had it in size 8, which was a little big on top for me but wasn’t very noticeable so I bought it.

Image

On the day of the event, I added a pair of small silver earrings with Swarovski crystals and wore a pair of cute silver shoes my friend Stephanie lent me (I forgot I needed to buy shoes and remembered the night before our flight, thanks!). At the end I decided I could do my, so I just curled it and pinned it to the side so that it wouldn’t be on the way of the pretty flower decoration on the shoulder of the dress. I also did my own make up, (see “So, what’s in your make up bag?” post) and played my eyes with fake eye lashes and M.A.C’s 2011 Ice Parade eye shadow set in Ice Parade Seduction. This was the result🙂 :

Image

I was surprised how many people complimented my last-minute find, mostly because this was the 2012 Gala for the Glendale Adventist Medical Center, so you could expect that the people there were probably wearing very expensive designer dresses. Anyways, the event at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion was beautiful, dinner was delicious, and the entertainment was provided by famous dancers and Cirque du Soleil performers.

Image

(During Dreya Weber’s aerial performance.)

https://getloworld.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/sowhats-in-your-make-up-bag-30-2/

3 thoughts on “Look of the day – H&M for black-tie event

Leave a Reply

